Monday, June 5, 2023

Public Portal Access Please Login/Register

This page is restricted. Please Login / Register to view this page.
HomeHimachal PradeshScramble for tickets to Fatehpur assembly seat amidst growing factionalism in BJP...

Scramble for tickets to Fatehpur assembly seat amidst growing factionalism in BJP and Cong

Dharamshala | TNR

Controlling factionalism is proving to be the biggest challenge for the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress party in the by-elections to the Rajput-dominated Fatehpur assembly seat of Kangra district in Fatehpur, to which there are several ticket seekers currently. Selection of the right candidate is going to be a tough task for both parties.

Congress options

As far as the Congress is concerned, the first choice of the high command is Bhavani Pathania, son of late MLA Sujan Singh Pathania, through whom the Congress hopes to retain the Fatehpur seat on the basis of the sympathy factor. However, a faction within the party has been opposing the idea of fielding Bhavani Pathania as they feel the idea smirks of nepotism which could ruin the chances of the common party worker getting a ticket. This faction had demonstrated before party in-charge Rajiv Shukla in Dharamshala some time ago. Congress leaders like Chetan Chambial, Naswar Singh and Raghav Pathania too are seeking tickets.

BJP in dire situation

The BJP too has been yearning for a victory in Fatehpur since 2007. In 2007, Dr Rajan Sushant won the elections on a BJP ticket, but eventually left the party which was forced to change candidates for two elections and one by-election. In the 2017 election, the party bet on Kripal Parmar, but due to factionalism, he lost the election by 1284 votes. The opposing candidate Baldev Thakur got 13090 votes thus crashing BJPs dreams. Currently, Kripal Parmar seems to be the frontrunner in the race for the Fatehpur ticket, but this has been met with opposition from other contenders who see Parmar as an outsider. Apart from Parmar, names like Baldev Thakur, Rita Thakur and Suman Devi have also cropped up.

Rajput community dominates

The Fatehpur seat has always been dominated by the Rajput community. From 1977 to 2017, candidates from the Rajput community won seven times, while candidates from the Brahmin community won four times. Late minister Sujan Singh Pathania from the Rajput community, won from this seat seven times. Rajan Sushant won twice.

2017 results

In the 2017 assembly elections, Congress candidate Sujan Singh Pathania won by a margin of 18962 votes. BJP candidate Kripal Parmar who came second got 17,678 votes. BJP candidate Baldev Thakur got 13090, while Rajam Sushant got 6205 votes.

85685 voters to choose new MLA

Around 85685 voters will elect a new MLA in the upcoming by-elections to the Fatehpur assembly seat that fell vacant due to the death of MLA Sujan Singh Pathania. Of these, 43158 are male voters and 42527 are female voters.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments