Sunday, May 28, 2023

Public Portal Access Please Login/Register

This page is restricted. Please Login / Register to view this page.
HomeHimachal PradeshHimachal Congress wins Shimla MC polls, but loses co-operative bank director elections...

Himachal Congress wins Shimla MC polls, but loses co-operative bank director elections in Mandi, Sundernagar

The Newz Radar

MANDI: The ruling Congress may have several reasons to cheer in view of the stupendous victory in the Shimla Municipal Corporation elections, but things haven’t proceeded as per the party’s liking in the Himachal Pradesh State Co-operative Bank polls for the post of director as both its supported candidates lost in Mandi and Sundernagar zones on May 4.
While BJP-supported Priyavrat Sharma won from Mandi zone, independent candidate Keshav Nayak emerged victorious in Sundernagar. Keshav, however is an old Congress man who was denied the party candidature this time. The Congress instead opted for Manish Kumar, who could secure only 19 votes and stood fourth.
Mandi zone results have surprised many as it was for the first time that any candidate from the opposition party has won the elections. Priyavrat Sharma secured 41 votes while Dr Chander Shekhar of the Congress had to contend with 24 votes at the second position. Balwant Thakur got 26 votes, Bhupinder Singh 17, Vishal Rathour 20, Ajay 5, Gian Chand 4 and Rattan 3.
In Sundernagar zone, Keshav Nayak surprised everyone with 51 votes while independent candidate Virender Guleria managed the second position with 32 votes. BJP-supported Hukum Chand slipped to third position with 23 votes.
Speaking to the media, the winning candidates thanked the voters for their support and assured that they would work for the welfare of the employees of the state co-operative bank. “We will take up all pending matters of the employees before the government and assure quick response in all matters in a reasonable time,” they said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments