5.1 C
Himachal Pradesh
Monday, February 6, 2023

BJP wins 3 seats in Nadda’s home turf Bilaspur, but victory margin in 2 lesser than NOTA


The Newz Radar

Though the ruling BJP in Himachal Pradesh managed to win three of the four seats in BJP national president JP Nadda’s home district Bilaspur, the victory margin in two constituencies isn’t something the party can boast of.

This is despite the fact that Nadda spent a considerable time in Bilaspur and Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed two events in the district in the run-up to the Assembly elections. Even the AIIMS and Government Hydro Engineering College were inaugurated by the PM in Bilaspur days ahead of the election code was imposed in Himachal.

BJP candidates won from Jhanduta, Bilaspur Sadar and Sri Naina Devi seats while the Ghumarwin constituency went to the Congress.

Interestingly, NOTA (None Of The Above) option polled almost equal or more votes than the victory margin of the two winning BJP candidates in Sri Naina Devi and Bilaspur. Winning BJP candidate Randhir Sharma in Sri Naina Devi polled 29,403 votes while his nearest Congress rival Ram Lal Thakur got 29,232, a victory margin of 171 votes. The NOTA score here was 225.

From Bilaspur Sadar seat, Nadda loyalist Trilok Jamwal secured 30,988 votes, defeating his Congress rival Bumber Thakur, who got 30,712 votes, by a margin of 276 votes. NOTA polled 270 votes here. There was difference of a mere six votes between NOTA and victory margin.

In Jhanduta, BJP’s Ram Katwal defeated Congress’ Vivek Kumar by 5,799 votes. Rajesh Dharmani of the Congress won the Ghumarwin seat by about 6,000 votes. The Congress and the BJP got 40 and 25 seats, but the difference in the vote share was only 0.90 per cent.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles